ESA

European Sports Academy

The European Sports Academy was imagined by Jacques Borlée and founded in 2010 with the help of some sports personalities, in order to promote sporting excellence in a suitable infrastructure.

ESA offers three projects of different nature. First of all, the Mini ESA, which is a ‘proof of concept’ of the future big centre of excellence. This project aims at supporting young people in their sporting career by offering them activities to prepare themselves for sport at the highest level. Afterwards, there is the ESA Arena which aims at providing, at short-medium term, quality training sports facilities in Brussels and at being used to physically settle the Mini ESA project. Finally, there is the ESA International which will be the completed version of the centre of excellence in Brussels and which is currently undergoing a feasibility study, funded by Beliris, on the conditions and modalities of implementation. It is essential not to confuse the two latest projects because they are very different from a financial point of view as well as on the aspects of temporality and purpose.

Since 2010, The European Sports Academy (‘ESA’) has been running an innovative and inspiring project which aims at revolutionising the sports world and improving everyone’s life.

Our identity

ESA was created with the intention of creating an ambitious future, full of success, for the Belgian – and the European – sports scene. Furthermore, its vision goes beyond the world of sports. As with Formula 1, which helps improving our cars’ performance and safety, the European Sports Academy aims at accelerating the transfer of knowledge, inspiring and influencing behaviours within companies, associations, schools and the public as a whole.

Mission

ESA’s main priority is to orchestrate the integration of science into sport. To do so, it has developed a model of performance which lies on neurological, ocular and muscular analyses. The success factor lies on the possibility to influence parameters linked to decision making and engage or inhibit a movement. ESA leans upon innovative techniques and disciplines helping top athletes to achieve sustainable successes.

To fulfil its role to its full extent, ESA will unite, in a single action, infrastructures, knowledge and professionals to take care of Belgian and European high-level athletes in an environment leading to high-level performance.

ESA has the ambition to be recognised as a European centre of excellence and networking thanks to an exclusive and ground-breaking method to support and supervise spot elites.

To a greater extent, ESA wants to be a knowledge centre at the service of social and economic inclusion.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_rss.svg
Innovate

Success or defeat are shaped by your brain. That is why ESA invests in putting neurosciences at the service of high-level athletes. The technology used measures the performance waves, released by the brain and linked to neurological, ocular and muscular activities.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_gear.svg
Integrate

The study and monitoring of these waves are overseen by a coach, a technical, physical and psychological team to develop winning and personalised neuromuscular strategies for each athlete.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/software_layers2.svg
Harmonise

Static and motion analyses, coupled with the analyses of the performance waves, determine what is possible or not for each athlete. ESA’s method enable them, with the same team that monitors the athlete, to establish a tailored made program of physical harmonisation.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_todo_pencil.svg
Test

ESA started this adventure by setting up the Mini ESA project: testing its concept in real live conditions to prove what ESA can bring to full throttle. Mini ESA is a high-level sports centre, within which a multidisciplinary team takes care of the Belgian Tornados (4x400m), 5 young soccer players and 5 young basketball players. This care includes biomechanical, static and psychological tests.

Structure

Jacques Borlée

Jacques Borlée

President

Coach of the Belgian Tornados

Emmanuel Van Innis

Emmanuel Van Innis

Treasurer

Honorary Member of the Executive Committee of GDF Suez

Alain Deneef

Alain Deneef

Secretary general

Director of companies and associations animator

Marc Coudron

Marc Coudron

Member

President of the Royal Belgian Hockey Association

Didier De Baere

Didier De Baere

Member

Consultant

Paul De Knop

Paul De Knop

Member

Honorary Rector of the VUB

Bernard Gustin

Bernard Gustin

Member

CEO of Brussels Airlines

Jacques Ledure

Jacques Ledure

Member

Former Manager of the Belgian Lions and Proximus Spirou consultant

Dominique Monami

Dominique Monami

Member

Coach and former international tennis player

Roger Vanden Stock

Roger Vanden Stock

Member

President RSCA

Philippe Vander Putten

Philippe Vander Putten

Member

CEO of the Belgian Olympic and interfederal Committee

Herman Van Holsbeeck

Herman Van Holsbeeck

Member

General Manager RSCA

Thierry Zintz

Thierry Zintz

Member

Professor and UCL Olympic Chair

Background

The European Sports Academy was imagined by Jacques Borlée and founded in 2010 with the help of some sports personalities. The Board of Directors is now composed of twelve members including Philippe Vander Putten, Bernard Gustin and Thierry Zintz. ESA aims to be recognised as a European centre of excellence which, within a single infrastructure, supports and advises elite athletes.

In 2012, the ‘proof of concept’, which is called Mini ESA, began. That is a total of ten young Belgian promising athletes who participated in this unique and rewarding experience. The project was spread over a period of four years during which athletes were receiving professional support in specific mobility programmes. In addition, they had the opportunity to participate in a neuroscience experiment with Guy Cheron in order to analyse the alpha brain waves. This first edition proved to be a success as both athletes participated in the Rio Olympics and three out of the five soccer players are evolving or have evolved into the first division of the Anderlecht Royal Sporting.

On 8th December 2015, a symposium called ‘Orchestrating ambition’ was organised by ESA in order to learn from those who succeeded in the most diverse fields: culture, technology, sports and science. This day was a success thanks to the various stakeholders, such as Wim Vandeven, coach Tia Hellebaut, Justine Henin, tennis player, Bernard Launoit, executive chairman of the Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, Claude Michel, manager of the Solvay Solar Impulse partnership, or Guy Cheron, neurophysiologist at the ULB.

A Business Programme was also conducted in a company. It is a tailor-made excellence programme that combines sports coaching and business coaching. The target audience is the leaders and top managers of companies, associations and administrations. Starting with stories told with conviction and authenticity by Jacques Borlée, we take you on the success track to positively transform your business and its environment. Your team works with their brains, their bodies and their emotions. Immediate action and change are part of the process. On the agenda: storytelling, relaxation, sport, coaching innovation serving your specific objective that is defined together with our business coach.

Finally, in September 2016, a new edition of Mini ESA began. It consists of ten tennis players and six basketball players. These young athletes will thus begin the program with a series of biomechanical, psychological, posture or VO2 max tests. In that way, they will benefit from specific programs and will also participate in sessions of relaxation and of breathing in water.

The purpose of ESA is to look for favourable winds to win more medals and transfer high-level technology towards society.

With the support of

ESA

European Sports Academy

European Sports Academy a été imaginée par Jacques Borlée et fondée en 2010 avec l’aide de quelques personnalités du monde du sport, dans le but de favoriser l’excellence sportive dans une infrastructure ad hoc.

ESA s’articule en trois projets de nature différente. Premièrement, Mini ESA qui est un ‘proof of concept’ du futur grand centre d’excellence. Ce projet consiste à suivre des jeunes dans leur parcours sportif en leur proposant des activités afin de les préparer au sport au plus haut niveau. Ensuite, ESA Arena, qui vise à disposer à court-moyen terme d’infrastructures sportives d’entraînement de qualité à Bruxelles et à servir d’ancrage physique au projet Mini ESA. Enfin, ESA International qui sera la version aboutie du centre d’excellence à Bruxelles et qui fait actuellement l’objet d’une étude de faisabilité, financée par Beliris, sur ses conditions et modalité d’implantation. Il est primordial de ne pas confondre les deux derniers projets car ceux-ci diffèrent grandement d’un point de vue financier, de temporalité et enfin de finalité.

Identité

ESA a été créée avec l’intention de dessiner un avenir ambitieux et rempli de succès pour la Belgique sportive, tout en lui donnant une dimension européenne. En outre, sa vision dépasse le monde sportif. Tout comme la Formule 1 permet l’amélioration de la performance et de la sécurité de nos voitures, la European Sports Academy veut accélérer le transfert de connaissances pour inspirer et influencer les comportements au sein des entreprises, des associations, des écoles et auprès de tout un chacun.

Mission

Le rôle premier d’ESA est d’orchestrer l’intégration de la science dans le sport. Elle écrit la partition d’un modèle de performance qui repose sur l’analyse neurologique, oculaire et musculaire. Le facteur de succès est de pouvoir influencer les paramètres liés à la décision d’enclencher ou d’inhiber un mouvement. Autour de ce noyau, ESA s’appuie sur un assemblage innovant de toutes les techniques et disciplines permettant de mener les athlètes vers un succès durable.

Pour pouvoir jouer pleinement son rôle, ESA œuvre au regroupement, en un même lieu physique, des équipements, des connaissances et des professionnels pour accompagner des athlètes belges et européens de haut niveau dans une ambiance propice à la performance.

ESA a donc pour ambition première d’être reconnue comme centre d’excellence et de mise en réseau européen grâce à une méthode exclusive et innovante d’accompagnement et d’encadrement des élites sportives.

Plus largement, ESA a pour ambition d’être un lieu de partage de connaissances au service de l’inclusion sociale et économique de la jeunesse.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_rss.svg
Innover

Le succès ou la défaite sont déterminés par notre cerveau. C’est pourquoi ESA investit dans le fait de mettre les neurosciences au service des athlètes de haut niveau. La technologie est utilisée pour mesurer les ondes de la performance dégagées par le cerveau et liées à l’activité neurologique, oculaire et musculaire.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_gear.svg
Intégrer

L’étude de ces ondes se fait avec l’entraîneur, l’équipe technique, physique et psychologique pour développer des stratégies neuromusculaires gagnantes adaptées à chaque athlète.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/software_layers2.svg
Harmoniser

L’analyse de la statique et du mouvement, couplée à l’analyse des ondes de la performance, détermine ce qui est possible ou pas pour un athlète particulier. La méthode d’ESA permet ensuite, à nouveau avec toute l’équipe qui entoure l’athlète, d’établir un programme d’harmonisation physique.

http://euspac.be/wp-content/themes/salient/css/fonts/svg/basic_todo_pencil.svg
Tester

ESA a commencé par mettre sur pied le projet Mini ESA : un test en conditions réelles de son concept afin de fournir les preuves de ce qu’ESA peut apporter. Mini ESA est un centre sportif de haut niveau au sein duquel une équipe multidisciplinaire a accompagné 5 jeunes athlètes, 5 jeunes footballeurs et 5 jeunes basketteurs. Cet accompagnement comprenait des tests biomécaniques, statiques et psychologiques.

Structure

Jacques Borlée

Jacques Borlée

Président

Entraineur des Belgian Tornados

Emmanuel Van Innis

Emmanuel Van Innis

Trésorier

Membre honoraire du Comité Executif de GDF Suez

Alain Deneef

Alain Deneef

Secrétaire général

Administrateur de sociétés et animateur d’associations

Marc Coudron

Marc Coudron

Membre

Président de l’Association Royale belge de Hockey

Didier De Baere

Didier De Baere

Membre

Consultant

Paul De Knop

Paul De Knop

Membre

Recteur honoraire de la VUB

Bernard Gustin

Bernard Gustin

Membre

CEO Brussels Airlines

Jacques Ledure

Jacques Ledure

Membre

Ancien manager des Belgian Lions — Consultant des Proximus Spirou

Dominique Monami

Dominique Monami

Membre

Coach — Ancienne joueuse internationale de tennis

Roger Vanden Stock

Roger Vanden Stock

Membre

Président RSCA

Philippe Vander Putten

Philippe Vander Putten

Membre

CEO Comité Olympique et interfédéral belge

Herman Van Holsbeeck

Herman Van Holsbeeck

Membre

General Manager RSCA

Thierry Zintz

Thierry Zintz

Membre

Professeur et Titulaire de la Chaire Olympique à l'UCL

Historique

La European Sports Academy a été imaginée par Jacques Borlée et fondée en 2010 avec l’aide de quelques personnalités du monde du sport. Le conseil d’administration est aujourd’hui composé de douze membres tels que Philippe Vander Putten, Bernard Gustin ou encore Thierry Zintz. ESA a pour ambition d’être reconnu comme un centre d’excellence européen qui, dans un seul endroit, soutient et conseille les élites sportives.

En 2012 a débuté le « proof of concept » appelé Mini ESA. C’est au total 10 jeunes espoirs sportifs belges qui ont participé à cette expérience unique et enrichissante. Le  projet s’étalait sur une durée de quatre années durant lesquelles les sportifs bénéficiaient d’un suivi professionnel dans des programmes spécifiques de mobilité. De plus, ils ont eu l’opportunité de participer à une expérience dans la neuroscience avec Guy Cheron dans le but d’analyser les ondes alpha du cerveau. Cette première édition s’est avérée être un succès puisque deux  athlètes ont participé au Jeux Olympiques de Rio et trois des cinq footballeurs évoluent ou ont évolué en équipe première du RSCA.

Le 8 décembre 2015, un colloque appelé « Orchestrer l’ambition » était organisé par ESA dans le but de s’inspirer de ceux qui réussissent dans les domaines les plus divers : culture, technologie, sport et sciences. Cette journée fut un succès grâce notamment aux différents intervenants tels que Wim Vandeven, coach de Tia Hellebaut,  Justine Henin, tenniswoman, Bernard de Launoit, président exécutif de la Chapelle musicale Reine Elisabeth, Claude Michel, responsable du partenariat Solvay Solar Impulse, ou encore Guy Cheron, neurophysiologue à l’ULB.

Enfin, en septembre 2016 a commencé une nouvelle édition de Mini ESA, composée de dix joueurs de tennis et de six joueurs de basket. Ces jeunes sportifs vont ainsi débuter ce programme avec une batterie de tests biomécaniques, psychologiques, de posture ou encore de VO2 max. De cette manière, ils bénéficieront de programmes spécifiques et participeront aussi à des séances de relaxation et de respiration dans l’eau.

L’objectif d’ESA est de rechercher des vents favorables pour gagner plus de médailles

Avec le soutien de