Mini ESA

Presentation

Mini ESA started in 2012 and is the ‘proof of concept’ of the future centre of excellence for Belgian athletes. This life-size experience allowed Brussels young athletes, between 15 and 22 years old, to improve their performance while benefiting from professional and personalised follow-up for four years. In addition, the project showed the importance of having quality sports facilities in Brussels.

A hundred tests performed by 25 Belgian promising athletes from the world of athletics and soccer were needed to enable the multidisciplinary selection committee to select five young athletes in each of these two disciplines. These tests are of a physical, psychological and technical nature and were conducted by internationally recognised experts in their speciality, such as Jef Brouwers, Titi Mullie and Guy Cheron.

Various activities were proposed during these four years. First of all, athletes have benefited from a mobility programme, to be performed twice a week, allowing then to harmonise their entire body, improve their perception and prevent injuries.

Afterwards, our young athletes took part in an activity aiming at analysing the Alpha and Beta waves in sport including measuring their degree of concentration during the effort. The psychological test has meanwhile helped identifying the personality of the athletes.

The results of this first edition are spectacular! In athletics, two out of the five athletes took part in the Rio Olympics while three out of the five promising young soccer players are now evolving within the first division of the Anderlecht Royal Sporting.

However, the need to physically settle Mini ESA in a place arose. Indeed, being split into multiple places made the visibility of Mini ESA unclear and did not contribute to create a body spirit. Therefore, it was thought to use an intermediate centre, the ESA Arena. This intermediate centre allowed performing the activities without waiting for the creation of the big International ESA excellence centre. Activities are therefore performed in an infrastructure which, even if it does not entirely belong to ESA, has been identified as ESA being also part of it.

The aim is to support young people both physically, psychologically and technically for them to be able to practice sports at a high level.

Jacques Borlée June 2016

Athletes

Youri Tielemans

Youri Tielemans

May 7, 1997

2013 : RSCA A team-player and Belgian Red Devil
Professional contract since 2013
Completed the Mini ESA program in 2015

Leander Dendoncker

Leander Dendoncker

March 25, 1995

2013: Starter Viareggio U21
2014: First game in the Champions League
2015: Belgian Red devil and RSCA A team-player
Completed the Mini ESA program in 2015

Andy Kawaya

Andy Kawaya

August 23, 1996

2013: Belgian champion U17 U19 U21 with RSCA – RSCA A team-player
2014 - 2015: Played several matches in the Champions League
Completed the Mini ESA program in 2015

Scott Bitsindou

Scott Bitsindou

April 11, 1996

2013: Winner of Aegon Cup U17 in Amsterdam
2014: Played for the first time in UEFA Youth League - RSCA youth team captain for 5 years
Completed the Mini ESA program in 2015

Alexis Scholl

Alexis Scholl

March 11, 1996

2014: Espoir Team player
Defender at Benfica
Completed the Mini ESA program in 2015

Dylan Borlée

Dylan Borlée

400m and 4x400m relay

2015: Silver medal (400m) and gold medal (4x400m) at the European Championships in Prague - European record 4x400m - Bronze medal at IAAF World Relays in Bahamas
2016: European champion (4x400m) in Amsterdam - 4th at the Olympic games in Rio (4x400m) with a new national record

Robin Vanderbemden

Robin Vanderbemden

60m – 200m – 400m and 4X400 relay

2014: Belgian Champion (60m)
2015: 8th at the European Championships U23 in Tallinn (400m) - Finalist at the world championships in Beijing (4x400m)
2016: selected for the 200 and 4x400m relay at the European Championships in Amsterdam - Selected for the Olympic games in Rio (4x400m)

Camille Laus

Camille Laus

100m - 200m – 4x100m relay and long jump

2013: Belgian Champion in long jump
2015: Selected for the European Team championships in Heraklion (200 and 4x100m)

Vincent Laporte

Vincent Laporte

Javelin throw

2013: 9th at EYOF (the javelin throw) – 3rd in the Belgian championships and Flemish champion in javelin
Left the Mini ESA program in 2014

Alexandre Screve

Alexandre Screve

400m - 800m

2014: World Junior Championships (4x400m) in Edmonton
Left the Mini ESA program in 2014

Le programme Tennis.

L’onglet Basket.

Experts

Jacques Borlée

Jacques Borlée

Athletics Coach and European Athletics Coaching Award in 2011

Static Test and posture analysis

Jef Brouwers

Jef Brouwers

Psychologist specialized in sports, works with the Red Devils and COIB

Psychological testing

Guy Cheron

Guy Cheron

Professor at the ULB (Institute of Science and motor) and responsible for LNMB (Laboratory of Neurophysiology and Movement Biomechanic)

Ocular mobility test

Titi Mullie

Titi Mullie

Physical preparer, posture training, collaboration with COIB

SDE mobility test

Didier Verhasselt

Didier Verhasselt

Physiotherapist, member of the technical staff in the 4x400m relay, selected at the Olympic games in 2012 and 2016

SDE mobility test

Videos

Testimonies

Progress is the main element that I take from this experience. Mini ESA's activities have contributed to a better understanding of my body, and therefore, I feel more comfortable on the field and I produce a better football.

Scott BitsindouMidfielder RSCA

I enjoyed participating in this project because we were followed up during our mobility programs and we shared this experience with athletes from other sports. Mini ESA has mainly contributed to the balance of my body, so I was able to stay injury free.

Alexis SchollBenfica defender

Mini ESA has helped improve my performances with the mobility programs of Titi Mullie, but also through the financial support for training camp and medical care.

Dylan Borlée400m and 4x400m relay

With Mini ESA I was able to improve my concentration and my body perceptions by doing specific and personalized mobility programs. Also, I enjoyed sharing this experience with athletes from other sports.

Camille Laus100m, 200m, 4x100m relay and long jump

Mini ESA gives young athletes a high-level monitoring through tests and analyses. Experts in their field carry out these analyses. I observed an improvement in Robin’s performances ,thanks to the work of perception, mobility and strengthening of Titi Mullie.

François GourmetRobin Vanderbemden Coach

Evaluating a member in a team sport is not obvious. That depends on many factors. However, I can say, objectively, based on physical capabilities but also, collective results, that young RSCA players following the Mini ESA program additionally to their club programs all improved themselves. Yes, the ESA methodology has improved the performance level of our espoir.

Hubert LemairePhysical trainer RSCA

Since he died the year before I was born, I can’t break https://www.paperovernight.com/ bread with martin heidegger even though I reconcile the difference between being and becoming every time I make the coffee too strong

Mini ESA

Présentation

Mini ESA a débuté en 2012 et est le « proof of concept » du futur centre d’excellence pour sportifs belges. Cette expérience grandeur nature a permis à de jeunes sportifs bruxellois, âgés entre 15 et 22 ans,  d’améliorer leur performance en bénéficiant d’un suivi professionnel et personnalisé durant 4 années. De plus, le projet a démontré l’importance de disposer d’infrastructures sportives de qualité à Bruxelles.

Une centaine de tests effectués par 25 espoirs belges provenant de l’athlétisme et du football ont été nécessaires afin de permettre au Comité de sélection multidisciplinaire de choisir cinq jeunes dans chacun de ces deux sports. Ces tests sont de nature physique, psychologique et technique et ont été réalisés par des spécialistes internationalement reconnus dans leur domaine tels que Jef Brouwers, Titi Mullie ou encore Guy Chéron.

Différentes activités ont été proposées durant ces quatre années. Tout d’abord, les sportifs ont bénéficié d’un programme de mobilité à effectuer deux fois par semaine permettant ainsi d’harmoniser l’ensemble de leur corps, d’améliorer leur perception et de prévenir des blessures.

Ensuite, nos jeunes sportifs ont participé à une activité visant à analyser les ondes Alpha et Beta dans le sport mesurant notamment leur degré de concentration lors de l’effort. Le test psychologique a quant à lui permis de mieux cerner la personnalité des athlètes.

Les résultats de cette première édition sont spectaculaires ! En athlétisme, deux des cinq athlètes ont participé au Jeux Olympiques de Rio alors qu’en football trois des cinq jeunes espoirs évoluent maintenant au sein de l’équipe première du Royal Sporting d’Anderlecht.

Cependant, la nécessité d’ancrer Mini ESA physiquement en un lieu s’est posé. En effet, être éclaté en des lieux multiples rendait la visibilité de Mini ESA aléatoire et ne contribuait pas à créer un esprit de corps. Il a donc été imaginé de disposer d’un centre intermédiaire, ESA Arena, afin de pouvoir réaliser les activités dans une infrastructure sinon propre à ESA, du moins identifiée comme étant aussi celle d’ESA, sans devoir attendre le grand centre d’excellence ESA International.

Le but est d’encadrer les jeunes tant au niveau physique, psychologique que technique pour qu’il puisse pratiquer du sport de haut niveau.

Jacques Borlée Juin 2016

Athlètes

Youri Tielemans

Youri Tielemans

07 mai 1997

2013 : Première apparition en équipe A contre Lokeren - Titulaire contre le Cercle de Bruges
Titulaire en équipe A du RSCA et fait partie des Belgian Red Devils
Contrat professionnel depuis 2013
A complété le programme Mini ESA en 2015

Leander Dendoncker

Leander Dendoncker

25 mars 1995

2013 : Titulaire lors du prestigieux tournoi U21 à Viareggio. 2014 : Premier match de la Ligue des Champions
2015 : Premier match en équipe nationale contre la France - Fait partie du Noyau A bruxellois
A complété le programme Mini ESA en 2015

Andy Kawaya

Andy Kawaya

23 août 1996

2013 : Champion U17 U19 U21 avec le Sporting - Equipe première RSCA
2014 - 2015 : A joué plusieurs match en Ligue des Champions
Attaquant Bruxellois
A complété le programme en 2015

Scott Bitsindou

Scott Bitsindou

11 avril 1996

2013 : Vainqueur en avril de l’Aegon Cup U17 à Amsterdam
2014 : A joué pour la première fois en UEFA Youth League - Capitaine en équipe des jeunes RSCA depuis 5 ans
A complété le programme Mini ESA en 2015

Alexis Scholl

Alexis Scholl

11 mars 1996

2014 : Equipe ‘espoirs’,
Défenseur à Benfica
A complété le programme Mini ESA en 2015

Dylan Borlée

Dylan Borlée

400m et 4x400m

2015 : Médaille d’argent au championnat d’Europe indoor à Prague sur 400m - Médaille d’or 4x400m plus record d’Europe au championnat d’Europe à Prague - Médaille de bronze aux championnats de relais aux Bahamas
2016 : Champion d’Europe en 4x400m à Amsterdam - 4e JO de Rio en 4x400m avec record de Belgique

Robin Vanderbemden

Robin Vanderbemden

60m – 200m – 400m et 4X400

2014 : Champion de Belgique sur 60m
2015 : 8e aux championnats d’Europe ‘espoirs U23’ à Tallinn - Finaliste aux championnats du monde à Pékin en 4x400m
2016 : Sélection sur 200 et 4x400m aux championnats d’Europe à Amsterdam - Sélection pour les JO de Rio en 4x400m

Camille Laus

Camille Laus

100m - 200m – 4x100m et longueur

2013 : Championne de Belgique en saut en longueur
2015 : Sélection internationale pour la coupe d’Europe d’Heraklion sur 200 et 4x100m

Vincent Laporte

Vincent Laporte

javelot

2013 : 9e de la finale de javelot aux EYOF - 3e au championnat de Belgique et champion flamand en longueur
A quitté le programme Mini ESA en 2014

Alexandre Screve

Alexandre Screve

400m - 800m

2014 : Championnat du monde junior en relais à Edmonton en 4x400m
A quitté le programme Mini ESA en 2014

Voici nos jeunes joueurs de tennis faisant partie du programme 2016-2017

L’onglet Basket.

Experts

Jacques Borlée

Jacques Borlée

Entraineur d’athlétisme et European Athletics Coaching Award en 2011

Test statique et analyse de la posture

Jef Brouwers

Jef Brouwers

Psychologue spécialisé dans l’accompagnement des sportifs, collaboration avec le COIB et Red Devils

Test psychologique

Guy Cheron

Guy Cheron

Professeur à l’ULB (Institut des Sciences et de la motricité) et responsable de LNMB (Laboratory of Neurophysiology and Movement Biomechanic)

Test de motricité oculaire

Titi Mullie

Titi Mullie

Préparatrice physique, spécialiste de posture training, collaboration avec le COIB

Test de mobilité SDE

Didier Verhasselt

Didier Verhasselt

Kinésithérapeute, membre de l’encadrement technique du relais 4x400m, présent aux JO de Londres et de Rio

Test de mobilité SDE

Témoignages

Le progrès est l’élément principal que je retiens de cette expérience. Les activités de Mini ESA ont contribué à une meilleure connaissance de mon corps et par conséquent je me sens plus à l’aise sur le terrain et je produis un meilleur football.

Scott BitsindouMilieu de terrain RSCA

J’ai apprécié cet encadrement professionnel car nous étions suivis durant nos programmes de mobilité et nous partagions cette expérience avec des athlètes d’autres sports. Mini ESA a surtout contribué à un équilibre de mon corps, ce qui m’a épargné des blessures.

Alexis SchollDéfenseur Benfica

Mini ESA a contribué à l’amélioration de mes performances grâce au programmes de mobilité de Titi Mullie mais aussi grâce à l’aide financière apportée pour les stages et soins médicaux.

Dylan Borlée400m et relais 4x400m

Mini ESA m’a permis d’améliorer mes perceptions et ma concentration en effectuant des programmes de mobilité spécifiques et personnalisés. De plus, j’ai apprécié pouvoir partager cette expérience avec des athlètes pratiquant un autre sport que le mien.

Camille Laus100m, 200m relais 4x100m et saut en longueur

Mini ESA apporte aux jeunes sportifs un suivi de haut niveau grâce à des tests et analyses réalisés par des experts dans leur domaine. J’ai observé une amélioration des performances de mon athlète notamment grâce au travail de perception, de mobilité et de renforcement de Titi Mullie.

François GourmetCoach de Robin Vanderbemden

Evaluer un individu dans le cadre d’un sport collectif n’est pas chose évidente. Cela dépend, en effet, de bien des facteurs. Je peux toutefois soutenir, objectivement, sur base de capacités physiques mais, également, de résultats collectifs que les jeunes talents du Sporting Anderlecht qui ont suivi le programme Mini ESA, complémentairement à leurs programmes en club et au sein des équipes nationales belges, ont tous progressé. Et je dirai de manière spectaculaire !
Oui, la méthode ESA a permis d’améliorer le niveau de performances de nos espoirs

Hubert LemairePréparateur physique RSCA
.